Stop and see you are simply loved.

Taking a day to rest can give us a chance to experience God’s grace, and to know His love is not dependent on our work. We are simply loved by Him.

olivia-033

The Sabbath teaches us grace because it connects us experientially to the basic truth that nothing we do will earn God’s love. As long as we are working hard, using our gifts to serve others, experiencing joy in our work along with the toil, we are always in danger of believing that our actions trigger God’s love for us. Only in stopping, really stopping, do we teach our hearts and souls that we are loved apart from what we do.       (Lynne Baab, Sabbath Keeping)

God’s grace through Christ means we don’t earn our salvation, it is a free gift from God. Nothing we do will bring about salvation or God’s love for us. Our salvation was purchased by Christ’s blood on the cross. The debt for our sins has been fully paid.

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God-not by works, so that no one can boast.”  Ephesians 2:8-9

img_20170128_163752

A few weeks ago during my time of Sabbath rest, I was meditating on Colossians 1:21-22. I was reminded of what Jesus did for me and the gospel message struck my heart again. I am so undeserving of His grace, forgiveness and love, yet He extended all this to me freely. Nothing I can do will make God love me more or less. Because of Jesus, God always loves and welcomes me. Taking time to stop and meditate on his love and grace is what my soul needs.If I don’t stop and remember truth it’s easy to forget what He has saved me from.

Resting is a gift. When we stop, we can know we are loved by the God who created us, even when we are not working for Him. Nothing I do is required to be loved by God. This is freedom! This is grace! This is a good place to be each week!

Do you struggle to believe God simply loves you? If you are not working, or achieving something for God, do you believe that God still loves you? 

Will you stop this week to reflect on God’s grace and love for you apart from your works?

Jessica

 

Bible verses about God’s grace and love

  • Ephesians 2:1-10
  • Psalm 103:11-12
  • Romans 8:35-39
Leave a Reply

