My journey to intentional rest.

This year I am on a journey of growing in the area of resting – Sabbath rest. This is a path I have been on for awhile now and that I struggle to pursue consistently. A few years ago a good friend of mine was the first to model true Sabbath rest to me through her disciplined pursuit of blocking out time to fellowship, reflect and worship on a particular day.

spring-072-001

I grew up in a Christian home, hardly missed a Sunday of going to church…but to me the Sabbath simply meant you didn’t work on Sundays. I didn’t see modeled to me an attitude of being intentional to rest on that day besides maybe just taking a nap because we were tired from going to church. Growing up I simply didn’t see Biblical Sabbath rest modeled or discussed in my family or my Christian community.

Through my friend’s example of practicing Sabbath rest, also through reading the Bible and other books on rest, I decided this is a practice/habit/lifestyle I want to work on pursuing.

The purpose of this blog is three fold:

  1. A space to process my journey.
  2. To hopefully encourage and challenge you to join me in pursuing intentional soul rest.
  3. Accountability for me towards moving forward in this area.

Are you currently practicing Sabbath rest? If so, what does your day of rest look like? 

I would love to hear from you!

Jessica

*Thanks for reading! I plan to post once a week. Please follow my blog if you would like to receive an email notification when I add new posts.

Leave a Reply

